The Week In Traffic Safety: September 27, 2013

This car sees danger so you don’t have too

The Subaru Outback and Legacy recently received the highest honors from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) for their auto-breaking system, “EyeSight.” During a controlled simulation, the camera-and-software enabled feature – 20 years in the making – avoided collision at a speed differential of 25 mph (the Subaru was going 25 mph faster than the “car” in front at time of sudden stop). Top-rated radar-enabled auto-breaks, by contrast, failed at a speed differential less than 19mph. The rating will be recognized in IIHS Top Safety Pick+ winners for 2014. Read More Source: Auto News

Nissan’s first driverless car is now licensed in Japan

Nissan’s first driverless, zero-emission electric car hits Japanese roads today. Test models for the Leaf, which just received its license from the Japanese government, offer six automated driving features. The most significant allow the car to exit freeways, change lanes, stop at red lights, and pass slow or stopped cars without the driver. Nissan expects to bring Leaf to market by 2020. Read More Source: Wired

Cameras as a safety feature

The National Highway Traffic Safety Association (NHTSA) is adding rearview surveillance cameras to the list of recommended safety features in the New Car Assessment Program (NCAP). The system will replace Electronic Stability System – automatic skidding control — which now comes standard on all vehicles. Makes and models with the added benefit are listed on Read More Source: National Highway Traffic Safety Association, press release

The federal government dedicates $63 million to transportation innovation projects

University transportation research programs just received a major boost from The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA). The federal agency has awarded $63 million in University Transportation Center Grants to 33 of the university research programs in the United States. National recipients include:
  • National Center for Strategic Transportation Policies, Investments, and Decisions, University of Maryland
  • National Center for Sustainable Transportation, University of California, Davis
  • National Institute for Transportation and Communities, Portland State University (Oregon)
  • Technologies for Safe and Efficient Transportation Center, Carnegie Mellon University (Pennsylvania)
  • Center for Advanced Infrastructure and Transportation, Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey
Read More Source:The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Research and Innovative Technology Administration